Relay for Life …STOP thinking and START doing

Relay for Life – June 13, 2014 – Support Team “Stand Sure”

united

This year I am participating in the Relay for Life, an event hosted by the Canadian Cancer Society.

My extended family has experienced the heart-wrenching impact of cancer.  And my fear is that it can happen again. I want to take a positive stand with my family as we focus on living healthy and happy lives.  I love my family. I would like to see more of them!  We are all busy during our day-to-day lives and sometimes we need to set aside a day (or 12 hours walking and running around a track) to spend together.

Another reason for finally signing up for the relay this year is one of my dear friends, Krista, has had an extremely difficult battle with cancer this past year. I want her to know that I was thinking about her, praying and shedding tears for her from afar. I will be walking and running for her and her bravery on June 13, too. Please read the post (here) where Krista writes an incredibly touching letter to her two sweet daughters.  Her battle has inspired me to “stop thinking and start doing”. What good does thinking about donating blood do? What good does thinking about checking the box on my organ donation card do? What good does thinking about having a great experience like the relay do? It doesn’t do anything. I vowed this year that I would stop thinking so much and just do it.

english,strong,images,life,pain,quotes-e373521f750b48b5085845e291846589_h

The relay has been on my bucket list for a few years and I decided to create a team of my mom, sister, aunties and girl cousins. We will be participating in the 2014 Relay for Life in Waterdown on June 13, 2014.  This date is not only significant because of my sister’s BIRTHDAY (Happy Birthday Jess)! It is also the date that my Aunt Betts lost her battle to cancer.  This is a very fitting day to join together as a family to remember those we have lost and stand united against cancer.

What is the Relay for Life?

Relay For Life is an inspirational, non-competitive, 12-hour overnight fundraising event that brings you and your community together to celebrate life, honour and remember loved ones and unite in the fight for life.

Read more: http://www.cancer.ca/en/get-involved/events-and-participation/find-an-event-near-you/relay-for-life/?region=on#ixzz2xABJnCjx

Why “Stand Sure”?

I decided that the Stand Sure name was appropriate for our “Anderson” clan.

And the symbolism of standing against or standing for something resonates with me. If we do have to “fight” again then we will stand together as a united front.

How do I donate?

If you would like to donate on behalf of team “Stand Sure”, please visit: STAND SURE DONATIONS

Note: Tax receipts are emailed to you immediately upon donating!

Why should I care?

Unfortunately, the incidences of cancer-related deaths in comparison to “other” causes of death is alarmingly high.  Please see this chart from cancer.ca:

How to reduce cancer risk

1. Quit smoking – 30% of cancer deaths are caused by smoking.

2. 1/3 of cancers can be linking to diet, obesity and lack of exercise!

The good news is you can reduce your risk by improving your lifestyle and your environment by living well and making healthy choices. Stop smoking. Get moving. Eat well. The less you drink, the more you reduce your risk. Practice safe skin care routines. Get sufficient vitamin D. Get to know your doctor. Get to know your body. Reduce toxins in your environment.

Read more: http://www.cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-101/how-to-reduce-cancer-risk/?region=on#ixzz2xAD6hGXY

Thank you for taking the time to read about my family’s journey toward raising cancer awareness and raising money toward ending the battle against cancer.

Here’s to a healthy and happy life!

Sarah

 

One thought on “Relay for Life …STOP thinking and START doing

Leave a Reply

