very little is needed

Every once in a while I lose my bearing.  I focus on what I can’t have. What I don’t have. What I can’t provide for my children.

I can’t buy clothes. I can’t paint a room in my house. I can’t go out for dinner. I can’t go to a movie. I can’t get a gym membership. I can’t sign my children up for several lessons per season. I can’t buy them new clothes.

BUT

We do have a roof over our heads, food in our fridge and clothes to wear. I do have the companionship and love of my husband and children. I can make sure my children know they are loved each and every day as well as every day going forward. I can watch a movie at home. I can make a fancy dinner for two. I can work out with one of my friends while watching the Bachelor on girl’s night. I can spend each day with my children. I can pick my son up from kindergarten.

It is easy to feel overwhelmed by the “cannot” list and thankfully I have a spouse who patiently encourages me to look at the “can” list when I need to be reminded and regain my focus on our life’s priorities.

We made a choice to slow things down and think before buying.  We don’t want to be comfortable with overspending and debt. We don’t want to sacrifice our future for today’s wants.

I can and do have a happy life. xoxo

Sarah

Leave a Reply

