Adding “me” to the list

Written: September 9, 2012

I need to make a fall resolution.  This cannot wait until the New Year.

I have been using my “inside” voice for several weeks (or months) now and it isn’t working.  I am hoping by thinking and then writing down these feelings that it sticks in my mind as an important “to do”.

I am adding “me” back to my list of daily tasks. I am not sure at what point it happened but I fell WAY WAY WAY back on my priority list. I am not even planning extravagant weekends away or shopping excursions.  I am thinking much, much smaller.

I need to start taking 2 minutes (literally) before picking up baby 1,2 or 3. I want to start my day off right by brushing my hair, teeth and taking a restroom break FIRST.  I have been flying out of bed and rushing into pick up a baby from a crib for far too long.

I want to drink more water. I often realize I have fed four bottles and several drinks of water and milk to my older son before I even pour myself a glass of water to drink (I never forget to drink my coffee).

I want to take vitamins.  I will take that extra minute to pull the bottle out of the cupboard and pour a glass of water and take them. I deserve it.

I want to take time to read, write and continue my DIY projects. I enjoy these things.

I want to start exercising again (yikes). It can be a simple walk (without children) (with the dog) (with a friend). A bike ride? Yoga? Strength training? Anything!

I hope I don’t sound like a broken “I want” “I want” record but the last thing I WANT is to become resentful. I don’t want to wake up in a couple of months and think that I have nothing left to give my family any more. I am starting to feel that happening when I get over tired (most days [although this is lessening now that we are getting more sleep]) and overwhelmed (most days).

I love the fact that my new identity is intertwined with my children, my husband and my home. I am surprised how much I love that fact.  I am happy with the way things are going but I don’t want to forget who I am and what makes me happy on a personal level.  It can be difficult to remember that most days! I am sure a lot of women can relate to this and men too. My husband gives so much to us by going to work each and every day and then stepping right into the mix from the minute he gets home to the minute the kids go to bed.

Signed ME

One thought on “Adding “me” to the list

Leave a Reply

