Look out Martha Stewart. I have your number :P

Have you ever had one of those moments where you think if I don’t cross this to-do item off my list I am going to …

(a) scream

(b) go crazy

(c) cry

(d) all of the above

I am ashamed to admit the twins nursery has never been decorated. Sure they have dressers, cribs, toys…the basics.  We moved all of the “art” to Isaac’s big boy room before they were born and never replaced it. What bothers me even more than the lack of decor are the window treatments.  They are not fully sun blocking.  They go to bed at 6:30 pm – 7 pm. The sun is BEAMING into their room as we try to put them to bed.  I have been finding it hard to find a time to go out and shop for blackout curtains.

Yesterday. I snapped. I started cutting up garbage bags with the full intention of taping them onto the back of our drapery panels. Can you say trashy?! I was justifying it in my mind that our garage blocks the view of their room from the road.  The neighbours would never have to know!  They would sleep therefore WE would sleep.

Somewhere between cutting up the garbage bags and adhering them with tape I had a stroke of what I am going to call brilliance.  We had an old pair of drapery panels from Isaac’s old room in the basement. I flew downstairs. I grabbed the “new” panels. I ran upstairs. I rushed into our office/guest room and grabbed a stapler. Yes, a stapler. I do not own a sewing machine (although I do hope to learn…maybe in the winter…). I did NOT have the time to learn how to sew yesterday. The stapler was my means to the end I was looking for.

Eureka! I decided I would staple the old panels to the back of the existing panels. What do you know it worked?! The dark brown curtains hide evidence of the staples.

My mother-in-law may not be impressed with my domestic prowess but mission accomplished. The room is dark. So dark that I ran into the crib in the middle of the night. *OUCH*

Thanks for visiting!

S

One thought on “Look out Martha Stewart. I have your number :P

Leave a Reply

