Take a Leave…

…of absence.

I am often asked if I will return to work or not.

I reply “Yes”.

The asker will often ask “Really?” or will *GASP* or will say “Why?”.

As of today, our decision is for me to return to work.  Although the cost of childcare makes me feel somewhat nauseous. We are considering the long-term requirements of raising three kids. You know. The small matters of SHELTER, FOOD, CLOTHES, EDUCATION…not to mention our retirement plan. I hope to one day travel with my husband (*sigh*).  The days of backpacking are far behind us.  Did it even happen? Was that a dream?

Our decision is for me to complete my maternity leave and then take a six month leave of absence from my place of employment.  They have graciously granted a six month unpaid leave.   The months of maternity leave are dwindling. I would be LYING if I said I was not nervous.  We will be a one-income family as of September.  I know the basics of living frugally but we still live comfortably.  If we really, really want something then we partake in the activity or purchase the item.  We have long ago stopped eating out/going to the movies/going to the mall. We have an antennae (our town is the PERFECT spot for one…complete with HD channels). We have internet phone service (disregard the malfunctioning service). What is left to cut out?

With the rising costs of living (specifically in the GTA), it is becoming more difficult to stay on budget. As the house “manager” or “house boss” as my Older Son once referred to me as….I find the task of keeping our grocery and household costs in check increasingly difficult.

Feel free to share frugal living tips and tricks (I know that I have some very CRAFTY friends who read this blog)!

Thanks for visiting.

S

Leave a Reply

