Let’s Make Baby Food

I like to make my own baby food. I find it satisfying.  I made I’s baby food when he was little and I had always planned to make M & E’s baby food as well. So far so good.

The trouble is they eat too much. I make a huge (or so I think) batch of baby food and it is gone in a week.

My “go to” food is carrot. They are inexpensive and I can make a huge batch. I have on occasion turned my kids orange! OOOPS!

Foods we have made so far:

  • Carrots
  • Squash
  • Cauliflower (a surprising success)
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Plum
  • Milled Rice Cereal
  • Banana Purée
  • Peas
  • White Potato Purée
  • Apple Sauce
  • Cantaloupe

First, I steam or bake the vegetables then with either my Baby Bullet or food processor I purée the veggies. Then I freeze the baby food in ice-cube trays.  I then dispense the frozen ice cubes into containers and store in the freezer.  It is convenient and I know exactly what I am giving to them. It makes me happy to make their food!

Today, I had a long to-do list (one for Husband dearest too…I don’t think we stopped moving from 6am – 7pm aside from eating lunch and dinner [even at that we each have at least one other mouth to feed while we eat HA!])!

I made batches of cantaloupe, carrots, cauliflower and milled rice cereal.

6 lbs of carrots to be peeled, cut and steamed.

Brown Rice ready to be simmered into “yummy” rice cereal.

My first batch of cantaloupe.  Younger Son liked it more than Baby Girl (but then again he tends to like ALL foods more than her)!

Phew…I am finished.

12 x Rice Cereal portions

12 x Cauliflower portions

20 x Cantaloupe portions

3lbs of Carrots (I decided against the 2nd 3lb bag) (Carrot soup this week?)

Thanks for visiting.

S

ps. While waiting for the rice to cook I decided to make a treat for my monkey and make homemade chocolate syrup for Older Son’s “treat” at lunch (note: we loved the deck weather…brisk wind…but we’ll take it)! THUMBS UP MOM! I LOVE CHOCOLATE MILK!

One thought on “Let’s Make Baby Food

Leave a Reply

