A place for everything and everything in its place

I will be forever thankful that last year March 2011 that we decided to convert our then dining room into a laundry room/powder room/mudroom.  I could NOT imagine surviving these past seven months without a “catch-all” place to store the two car seats, three snow suits, six + pairs of tiny mittens not to mention the TEN plus loads of laundry that I have been washing each week.

I plan to post a before and after on our dining room turned laundry room. I have a few more items to “complete” the transformation…

When we were designing our new laundry room I had this vision of a cute bench and hooks above…my mom, Gamma found a red bench at Homesense which fit the space PERFECTLY.  We hung five hooks above the bench with the idea that each family member would have their very, own hook.  PERFECT.  I wanted to take it a step further (I still have more organizing to do…) and I found these cute bags.

Did I mention the chaos of winter clothing? I have baskets and totes all of which are meant to hold each child’s clothing (nothing is working). I decided I needed one more method.  I then took craft paint (again…Dollarama) and painted with a stencil each child’s initial. I/M/E.  I must be honest. I do not know if I ever intended on using these bags to hold their belongings. I love the idea of personalizing our new mudroom with their beloved initials (I know I know…over-emotional mother)!

Older son…

Younger son…

Baby Girl…

The three musketeers…!

Stay Tuned for our Dining Room > Laundry Room Post (this may take awhile…)! Just being realistic :P!

Thanks again for visiting.

S

One thought on “A place for everything and everything in its place

  1. All the trials and tribulations of relocating the laundry and washroom and enlarging the kitchen/dining area were well worth the money, time and effort! And it was lovely to have you all come and stay for a while, during the messiest part. Sarah Richardson would be proud of you!

Leave a Reply

