Shopping avec three

Two days ago I decided that I wanted to go shopping.  I did not really need to buy anything but I wanted to browse.  Also I needed a destination to “break up” the day (if you have kids then you know exactly what I mean).  I needed a plan to get into the store.

Plan A was grab a shopping cart. Isaac and Em would sit in the children’s (it was only suited for one) seat of the cart. Max would remain in his car seat in the large basket of the cart. Uh oh. The shopping cart was 1/2 the size of regular carts. Skip to Plan B.

Plan B. I will let Isaac sit in the child’s seat. Emma will be strapped to my body using a baby sling. Max’s car seat will squish into the large part. Uh oh. The car seat won’t fit. Skip to Plan C.

Plan C. Get the hell out of there. Cut my losses and head back to Stouffville & pretend this never happened. Uh oh. Isaac is now in a fit of tears since I made a big deal about going to the store. Skip to Plan D.

Plan D. Remove the double stroller frame from the van. Max and Emma will remain in their car seats in the stroller frame. Isaac will help me push the stroller through the parking lot at which time we will locate a cart inside the store.  He will then sit in the child’s seat.  I will push the shopping cart and pull the double stroller frame behind me. Don’t forget to ignore the stares of disbelief!

And the winner is (after much consideration and a few moments of near tears) Plan D.  The result: a somewhat successful shopping trip in that we made it into the store and out of the store (did not buy a thing…not even sure if I was able to look).

The reward: head to the park & enjoy previously packed lunch!

Leave a Reply

